Performer Wheel

Fall 2012: 1920px x 1080px; construction paper, brad

With this animation, I wanted to pay homage to the old phenakistoscopes from early animation history. I created it with the intention to submit it for UMBC’s new Performing Arts and Humanities building, which is why the subject matter is a juggler, trumpeter and dancer.

First I drew some sketches to figure out the minimum number of drawings that were needed to make each motion convincing. I divided each ring into that number for its corresponding motion, and then I traced the sketches onto construction paper. I then cut the figures out and glued them onto their ring. I then secured the rings in their center with a brad and animated by turning the rings by each section and photographing them using Dragon Stop Motion software.

Leave a Reply

